News‎ > ‎Archived News‎ > ‎

St. Rynagh's Football Club Notes : 19th June

posted 20 Jun 2011, 07:33 by Unknown user   [ updated 2 Jan 2013, 04:41 ]
St Rynaghs v Der Gaels

St Rynaghs U14 footballers secured their first win in the U14 B Football Championship on Monday week last 13th June at Cloghan GAA Grounds.  St Rynaghs had a lot of the play in the first half and went in at half time leading by 4-4 to Der Gaels 2-6.  A storming second half display saw them over the winning line St Rynaghs  7-11 Der Gaels 3-7.  The lads are improving with every game and in the previous game against Gracefield they scored 4-9 and lost.  Another amazing fact out of the 7-11 only one point came from a free when centre back Ronan Butler pointed a 30m free twenty minutes into the second half.

St Rynaghs Team v Der Gaels:  Aidan Cannon, Owen Flynn, Aaron Daly, Graeme Daly, Fergal Hanamy, Ronan Butler (Capt) 0-1, Eamon Corcoran, Andy Flynn 2-0, Ben Conneeley 0-1, Jarlath Stevenson 0-2, Owen Killian 2-0, Enda Flynn 1-1, Darragh Tierney 1-2, Ryan Buckley 0-1, Kealin Kelly 1-1.  Subs:  Eoin Woods 0-2 for Owen Killian, Conor Kelly for Andy Flynn, Sean Hanamy for Owen Flynn, Danny Devery for Jarlath Stevenson, Sean Kilmartin for Eamon Corcoran.  Referee: Damien Brazil, Shannonbridge.


On Wednesday of last week 15th June our U12’s fielded two teams against Kilcormac Killoughey, the A team won their game in the first half and the B team lost their game in the second half.  There is no U12 championship this year.  There was 30 young fellows from St Rynaghs football club togged out at the Cloghan Venue on that evening.  The team mentors John Daly, Martin Hanamy and Mark Devery gave every young lad a game on the evening and it was brilliant to see so many young fellows lining out for their club and a sincere debt of gratitude to the above mentors, they are the driving force of St Rynaghs football club.  

Team A: Aidan Flynn, Domanic Healy, Denis Healy, Shane Hogan, Paul Devery, Aaron Kenny, Sean Kilmartin, Darragh Tierney, Barry Moylan, Darragh Gaughan, Oisin Hickey, Tom Corcoran, Sean Hanamy, Paul Donaghue, Ross Young.

Team B: Conor Hanniffy, Oran Clarke, Anthony Devery, Cormac Daly, Ciaran Corcoran, John Spollen, Owen Feeney, Conor Sullivan, Luke Hein Walsh, Paul Donoghue, Oisin Larkin, Ger Sheridan, Jack Flynn, Kevin Rigney, Ciaran Cannon.

Referee: Declan Ward, Crinkle


Again on Friday evening last St Rynaghs U 14B footballers played Der Gaels in the championship at the splendidly appointed Doon Venue.  Scores were certainly hard to come by in the first half.  At the half time whistle the score stood at St Rynaghs 1-4 Der Gaels 1-1.  The St Rynaghs selectors made a couple of shrewd moves for the second half.  Jarlath Stevenson who started the first half at right half forward was now playing at right half back on Der Gaels no.12 who was very influential in the first half.  Midfielder Ben Conneeley picked up their no 8 Owen Flynn who switched with Jarlath Stevenson was now operating as a third midfield man.  The switches had a resounding affect as a sea of green and white hooped jersies pounded the Der Gaels goal.  St Rynaghs scored a staggering 5-13 in the second half to Der Gaels 2-1, one of their goals coming from a penalty in the 25th minute.  Final score St Rynaghs 6-17 Der Gaels 3-1.  It was exhibition stuff by the saints in the second half and the changes at half time had a huge affect on the outcome of the match.  Great praise has to be given to Der Gaels for playing football to the end, lots of these young lads are under age for the next two years and if they stay together they have the potential to be a good team.

Also well done to St Rynaghs team mentors Michael McIntyre, Odhrán McIntyre, Alo Flynn and Paddy Cooper for coaching these young fellows in the game of Gaelic Football.  A word of praise to the Doon GAA club, their pitch was in immaculate condition and properly marked out.  There are only a small club in Offaly but a lot of clubs could take a leaf out of Doons book, on how preparations for a GAA match should be done.

St Rynaghs Team v Der Gaels:  Owen Woods, Graeme Daly, Aaron Daly 0-2, Owen Flynn 0-2, Fergal Hanamy, Ronan Butler (Capt) 0-3, Eamon Corcoran, Ben Conneeley, Owen Killian, Jarlath Stevenson, Ryan Buckley 2-2, Enda Flynn 2-4, Kealin Kelly 1-1, Andy Flynn 1-0, Darragh Tierney 0-3.  Subs:  Conor Kelly for Ben Conneeley, Danny Devery for Darragh Tierney, Aidan Cannon for Eamon Corcoran, Ross Young for Kealin Kelly, Cormac Mahon for Graeme Daly.  Referee: Chris Dwyer, Clara.

On Tuesday evening of last week in the Div 2 Football League St Rynaghs lost to Ferbane in Ferbane on a scoreline St Rynaghs 1-4 Ferbane 1-11.

Notes Written by Noel Rosney and Typed up by Jackie Coughlan.